Profitec GO - Slow pressure build up first shot

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
FP_1989

#1: Post by FP_1989 »

Hello,
First post here. I am new to the home espresso world and I recently bought my first home set: Profitec Go paired with Eureka Mignon Specialita.

Since the beginning I noticed that the pressure builds up much slower in the first extraction than in following one's.
When I prepare the first espresso after switching on the machine and letting it get warm and at the coffer PID temperature, after pressing the coffee extraction button, the pressure gauge stays at zero for 8-10 seconds, and then it ramps up to the normal level.
When I prepare the second and following espresso shots, it takes only 3-5 seconds for the pressure gauge to show pressure moving from zero and moving up.

Due to this behaviour the first coffee drops come at different time between the first and the following extractions.
I have read slower pressure build up in normal for these types of pumps, but I am not sure why the extractions after the first are faster than the first. Anyone having some hints on this?

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

I'd try flushing some water out of the group before the first shot. The piping and internals may not be full first thing in the morning.

kirby

#3: Post by kirby »

I agree with trying the flush. I had a similar issue with a Gaggia Classic Pro. My issue was related to steaming. That was the last thing I was doing every day, but I was not running enough water to completely refill the boiler. Thus, the first shot of the next day would take longer to build pressure.

FP_1989 (original poster)

#4: Post by FP_1989 (original poster) »

Thanks for the tips!
I normally only drink espresso so there should not be any issue linked with steaming.