Problem with New ECM Classika II PID

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Erich114

#1: Post by Erich114 »

Hello,

I'm a newbie so please forgive my stupidity!

I recently bought a new ECM Classika II PID with Eureka Atom grinder.
The first shot was awful, even with the finest grind, my machine is pumping out watery coffee, the flow was too quick (25 secs will reach 150ml), the gauge reads around 3-4 bars when brewing. Did I miss a step or doing something wrong?

Much appreciated your help!!

Erich114 (original poster)

#2: Post by Erich114 (original poster) »

Ah! Just now I switched to single basket it was working fine, must be something wrong with my double basket...or I didn't fix it properly in place!

truemagellen

#3: Post by truemagellen »

Congrats on the new machine. What grinder do you have? How fresh are beans?

#4: Post by Erich114 (original poster) »

thanks mate!
I've got a Eureka Atom

I've done soooo many tests, since I haven't got a tamper so I've using the stock plastic thing, and it seems I'm either tamping too hard or soft, so for single shot I either get 3g or >45g of coffee...... I'm going to get a proper tamper and try again....... :x

#5: Post by Erich114 (original poster) »

beans are like 2 weeks old, so I don't think it's the cause of problem..
now i'm getting problem with the single basket as well, on 14g dose, it's either brewing too quickly or slowly.. (with 20secs I get either 3g or >45g of coffee), tried adjusting my grind and marked down it's not very consistent, so I guess it's my tamping..

Bluenoser

#6: Post by Bluenoser »