PRE infusion with the lever of an E61 brew group?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Qrumcof

#1: Post by Qrumcof »

I have a ECM Synchronika.. self taught since the pandemic started. A couple months ago I learned lifting the lever half way was not doing a PI, rather a puck wetting (since I'm using the reservoir / not line pressure).. Since then I started engaging the pump for about 1/2 second to try and get a PI (my lattes taste pretty good but now all coffees taste the same, and no matter what I do the last half of the pull starts channeling badly).. But the channeling may not be related to my PI question..

I'm looking for help understanding what I need to do for PI..
How can I best do PI with a lever and no line pressure?
Should I bother? Is puck wetting the same as PI? Should PI decrease channeling? Can I properly PI with no line pressure?

Moderator note: The ECM Synchronika is a pump espresso machine that uses an E61 brew group that can be activated by a lever control. Extraction does not occur by a lever-actuated piston. This topic has been relocated to the Espresso Machines forum, and I have modified the topic title to reflect that this is a lever control. drgary

Advertisement
shotwell

#2: Post by shotwell »

This is probably a needlessly long post, but the word preinfusion confuses a lot of people. It's a misnomer.

First, a couple definitions.

Infusion is the soaking of flavoring ingredients to extract.
Percolation is passing a liquid through a porous substance, in coffee it is meant to extract solubles as the solvent (water) passes through.
Espresso is primarily a percolation method, not infusion.

Since espresso isn't really an infusion method, the term preinfusion is a bit silly. The only infusion that happens is during what is traditionally called preinfusion! What you have are actually a few distinct steps.