Pneumatic Pressure-based DIY Espresso Machine Concept Build

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
city_coffee_cat

#1: Post by city_coffee_cat »

Greetings, I am a complete newbie to the world of espresso, but I have been very intrigued in going deeper into the rabbit hole of espresso. I have been using a picopresso for some time as my daily driver and recently, and thanks to some dear friends, I was able to try out a flair pro 2 and a hand crank machine (some Chinese version of ARAM coffee maker). Now I am very into the concept of small footprint and some-what portable espresso machines.

As the reason why I came up with such an idea is because I'm an overseas university student and a frequent traveller but other than the picopresso, I really haven't found any great options for espresso machines to carry around. I do know there are products like ARAM or KAZAK that are more packable than flair, but I do think they lack the aspect of control. For picopresso it's a damn fine device but pressure consistency is a little difficult to get. So, I decided why not try to design one? I'm no expert in mechanical or electrical engineering, but I'm willing to dedicate to this project of mine and learn what is needed to build a portable, constant pressure device that i can use as a daily driver.

One product that caught my eye was a 58espresso. It's essentially a pressure chamber that sends water down by the pressure supplied by a portable air compressor. Very interesting product but there has been quite some concerns of the chamber durability and food-grade safety of the pump (not well-versed but there have been some comments that those handheld bike pumps give out harmful particles? when compressing and releasing air)

So, the very basis of my idea is this:
* a pneumatic pressure piston system where the pressure is supplied by a 150psi handheld air compressor with a detachable brew chamber that holds hot water (similar to ARAM coffee maker)