Owner experience with Bezzera Strega - Page 145

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Mr_Flauschig

#1441: Post by Mr_Flauschig »

How can I get better clarity/aroma? I'm a beginner with this machine, have read this whole thread and taken lots of notes. I've watched Jim's videos. I grind finer and dose higher. I experiment with pressure profiling some. None the less, my shots tend to come out with a kind of muted, blended aroma - not interesting. The shots tend to be thick and have more body than I'm used to, and the smell is diminished and indistinct. Basically, I'm concerned with fruity/floral light roasts. Warez my notes at??

My daily driver is a Flair Pro/Signature, where I do a lot of pressure profiling. I'm quite comfortable with the machine, and can produce quite good, consistent results, whether I'm looking for a thicker chocolatey shot for a latte, or a fruity-floral allonge, turbo, etc.

My general setup is to grind fine enough so that the first drips happen as the pump is quieting, about 10" after being turned on. Unless I"m trying to pressure profile, I don't hold the lever for PI or retard it during extraction. I am using the stock 14g basket dosed to 18g in, 36g out, or using a LM precision 7g single basket, 8.5g in, 34g out (depends on the type of coffee I'm using). Shot time is between 30-50", dialled in by taste. Flush time depends on the degree of roast, 0" or 2" for light/medium beans, 4" for medium-dark beans. All beans are pulled on the Flair before I go to the Strega.

I sometimes measure the flow rates with a BT scale, and they tend to be slower than on the Flair. I have tried reduced pressure on the Strega by letting the pump run only 6-7" and retarding the lever to a very slow flow rate, but that didn't help - although I have only tried a couple times, maybe I need to try more.