Owner experience with Bezzera Strega - Page 127

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Marcje

#1261: Post by Marcje »

Deeneee wrote:Hi marcje,
Thanks for your reply.
I am admittedly unversed in the mechanical subtleties of the strega (which is also why I sought a simpler solution to disabling the pump) and I may be missing the picture but, im unsure what you mean by the water continuously running to the group head. With the micro switch wire disconnected Water flow out and into the portafilter occurs only once the lever is pulled and is contained (in the grouphead or otherwise) when the lever is at rest. When lever is pulled, water flows at line pressure, without the micro switch opening a magnetic valve.
Am I missing something?
Apologies, I'm quite new to this.
You are right, now that I read it back I see I phrased it incorrectly; the water does not continually run to the group head, but there is a continuous water (line) pressure on it.
Indeed, when you pull the lever then, the water will flow into the chamber.
Keep in mind that this line pressure is 3bar (where I live) and you have to ask yourself if you want to have that continuous pressure on your system without some sort of a safety. It's perhaps a small risk, but if a line breaks then the water will flow freely and flood you kitchen. Also, I do not know if the group seals were like a continuous 3bar pressure 'from the backside'? A magnetic valve reduces that risk and I would always opt for it. You can buy kits for this and installation is not that difficult.
In addition to this kit, I also installed a toggle switch and a LED, so I can switch between line pressure only, or pump assisted shots. The latter I never use though :wink:

Marcje

#1262: Post by Marcje »