Nuova Simonelli Oscar II: water after pause in use for more than 8 hours

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
partick

#1: Post by partick »

Hi there, this is my first time posting here. I've recently upgraded from a Sunbeam EM6910 to a NS Oscar II, the machine so far has been an amazing improvement and I want to know more about it to take the best care of it I can.

I've read through the manual, and in one part it mentions;
NOTE: At the start of the day's activities and in any case, if there are any pauses of more than 8 hours, then it is necessary to change 100% of the water in the circuits, using the relevant dispensers
What exactly does this mean, and why would this be of concern exactly? Do they mean to flush out the water from the boiler by running the steam wand, or flushing the wand and brew head slightly before use if it's been a while? Seems that there would be breaks of 8 hours or more through daily use, so I'm wondering what exactly this means.

checkwhatsleft

#2: Post by checkwhatsleft »

I think what it says was reload with fresh water if it's turn on for longer than 8 hours, and I assume that no one would like to drink hot water that's been heated for that many hours, that's interpretation of this.

Advertisement
partick (original poster)

#3: Post by partick (original poster) »

I see, but how would I dispense hot water? I guess that would mean running the brew heat and steam wand a bit to remove any heat exhanger water and some boiler water?

checkwhatsleft

#4: Post by checkwhatsleft »