New Rocket Appartamento - Is this the right steam pressure?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
longophoto

#1: Post by longophoto »

Hi All -- Sorry, I know this is a complete newbie question and post. I have a brand new Rocket Appartamento, and is the pressure gauge supposed to only go this far? It does not ever get to a solid 1. The shots look OK so far, but the gauge reading is making me paranoid. Thank you!

tglodjo

#2: Post by tglodjo »

The Appartamento is a heat exchanger, right? That pressure gauge depicts the pressure in the steam boiler, not the brew pressure. I would increase the pressure to 1.2 or 1.5 so you get full steaming performance. If you're maxing out at .9, then your pressure is probably dropping to .5 or below when steaming, which isn't ideal. I don't think the gauge is going to impact the result in your cup with espresso (I could be wrong since I don't know much about heat exchangers), but for steaming, that number is low, especially for this level of machine.

longophoto (original poster)

#3: Post by longophoto (original poster) »

Thank you! You're right about it being a heat exchanger-- I totally missed that. I'm going to open it up and adjust the pressure screw in a bit and try that.

DeGaulle

#4: Post by DeGaulle »

On a heat exchanger machine, raising the steam pressure is going to increase the brew temperature and therefore affect the result in the cup. To reduce this effect, you flush some more water from the group before pulling the shot. The best steam pressure is a trade-off between steam power and getting the right brew temperature profile to your taste without having to flush excessive amounts of water. Have a look at this:

Managing the Brew Temperature of HX Espresso Machines
Bert

wesleynance

#5: Post by wesleynance »