My long and rambling path to preinfusion/pressure profiling - Page 40

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Jake_G (original poster)
Team HB

#391: Post by Jake_G (original poster) »

another_jim wrote:The Slayer and Jake's machine have needle valves on the cold water side of the boiler.
While I've no first hand experience with Slayer, I can say that my valve is 100% on the hot side. I think Slayer is, too. My valve literally replaced the gicleur in my group. It's as close to Bianca as Bianca is but I have a commercial solenoid TS group instead of a mechanical E61. In an HX machine, cold water valves would be a solid no-go with loads of flash-boiling in the HX and stalled thermosyphon circuits. My solution (which was fully detailed in design long before I knew of Bianca, but obviously not before Lelit began R&D) is pretty much identical to Bianca, except mine is a one piece valve instead of a separate needle and seat. I see no benefit in particular to either method, though it was easier to get the dimensions correct in my case going with an enclosed off the shelf valve than it was to try to marry an adjustable needle to the group cap and have it seat properly in an orifice mounted below...

In any case, I'm glad Bianca is giving this methodology some positive press. I'm loving the ease of control and massive flexibility I'm getting.
Wattbe wrote:I've been following this superb thread for some time and have had a go at replicating a few shots on my GS/3 MP. While I can control pressure and flow on the fly, I don't have any measure of flow rate.
I've heard that the Acaia brew master app can display real time flow rate on a bar graph but was wondering if that's what you're using or if there's an app/scale that displays it digitally in grams/second?
Any tips are appreciated.
Thanks.