Lelit Mara vs Elizabeth: differences in cleaning and maintenance

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
babel

#1: Post by babel »

First of all I am new to this forum and to this caffeinated world. I am so happy to say hi and to learn from all of you. Second is apologising if I have posted this question in the wrong string. If so, please advise where I should do so or the administrator could just move it to the right place.

As I've just mentioned, I am new to the espresso world. I come from an Illy iperesresso machine and have decided to take a leap into the home barista experience (good heavens!). I am looking into paring a Elektra Mignon Specialita with either a Lelit Elizabeth or a Mara PL62T with PID.

I will tell you that I am planning to make one/two lattes/flat whites/capuccinos in the morning and one or two espressos in the afternoon. They say the double boiler is best if you are (also) into milk-based coffees, which I am. It is true I like my silky textured milk prone to latte art (in my bucket list).

So far the pros and cons of both machines I have found are:

MARA X:

Pros:
- The looks. love them.
- Heavier
- Water tank more accessible.

Cons:
- Heat up time. I like to drink my coffee on demand since I do not have a fixed schedule, so wi-fi plug is ruled out.
- Lack of a timer and shut off button.
- Lack of preinfusion time.
- Maybe a bit too deep in length, since the portafilter also sticks out a bit, or so I'm told.

ELIZABETH:

Pros:
- Technology
- Preinfusion
- Steam power
- Quicker heat up time
- Shorter in height than the Mara

Cons:
- The looks: Not crazy about them; same goes for its long and squared portafilter. It seems as it the machine belonged in the back of a restaurant's kitchen, but this is me, of course.