Lelit Bianca tripping the breaker

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
crazyascarl

#1: Post by crazyascarl »

I've had my Lelit Bianca for about a year. It's been working great, until yesterday...

I have it set up on a Wemo and yesterday morning my machine wasn't on- (20A) circuit had tripped.
Turned the circuit back on, fired the machine back on- PID showed the Lelit logo and the second the temperature started showed, tripped again.
There is nothing else on this circuit, but I tried another circuit to try to narrow down the issue. Same exact thing.
Played around a little bit- if I took out the reservoir, the machine powers just fine and I can play with the PID. But if I put the water back in, it trips.
Tried it later in the afternoon... it actually heated up a bit, tripped once the temp got to around 95.
Tried it this morning, got up to around 130 before it tripped.

I'm no electrician, but I feel pretty confident it's the machine and not my house (we recently went through a remodel, the kitchen electric is entirely new). Feels the the boiler is creating a power surge, but I have no idea what would cause that or how to fix it.

Anybody have any ideas?
Thanks.

I got it through Clive and reached out to them-- it's still under warranty, so we'll see what they say.

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »

Does the Bianca have a switch to shut down the steam boiler? If so, shut it down and see what happens. Part of the symptoms sound like a ruptured steam boiler heater. However, this does not square with the bit about taking the reservoir out.

cafeIKE
Supporter ❤

#3: Post by cafeIKE »

With the reservoir out, the heating element could be disabled.

Does it trip w/o the Wemo?

Does it trip non-GFCI circuits?
If not there is a conductive path to earth which is tripping the circuit

crazyascarl (original poster)

#4: Post by crazyascarl (original poster) »