Lelit Bianca grouphead backflushing frequency

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Ecrew888

Postby Ecrew888 » Jan 13, 2019, 8:07 pm

Hi, I am a newbie on this forum! I have a question on the group head flushing, I have about 170 total count on the LCC shot counter since December, I do clean the brew head and use the brush in between every shot. How often do I need to perform back flushing? Another question is does the LCC shot counter triggers and counts every time when I pull the lever that determines PAR or TOT? Sometimes I just pull the lever to run the water, I think it will not count as a shot until it meets a minimum duration on the timer before it count as a shot?

Thanks

another_jim
Team HB

Postby another_jim » Jan 13, 2019, 10:02 pm

Lelit says the needle valve needs more frequent backflushes than an ordinary E61; maybe every two weeks rather than every month. No idea about the shot counter: it's a feature of some use in commercial environments; but not really for the home.
Jim Schulman

Jake_G

Postby Jake_G » replying to another_jim » Jan 14, 2019, 12:00 am

I wonder what logic makes Lelit come to that conclusion.

That it needs better water, and perhaps the occasional removal and soak to descale, sure. But what do they expect a chemical backflush to do to a needle valve located upstream of the brew valve? Since the brew valve is closed tight long before the exhaust valve is open, the needle valve never gets a drop of chemical cleaning during any type of backflush activities. I'm confident a backflush would be as effective at cleaning the needle valve as it is cleaning the pump... :?

Cheers!

- Jake

another_jim
Team HB

Postby another_jim » Jan 14, 2019, 2:26 am

I'm simply relaying what I was told by their engineers. Presumably the brew valve is open while the levetta is up for the backflush. They may be under the fantastic impression osmosis also works for detergent :wink:
Jim Schulman

Jake_G