La Spaziale Vivaldi II - Low pressure water inlet query

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
steem21

Postby steem21 » Apr 05, 2008, 7:43 am

Hi All,

First post here in the forum. I've been using a Rancilio Silvia for the past two years and now have the opportunity to upgrade to a secondhand La Spaz Vivaldi II. The significant other has given the nod to a larger machine - however, I haven't told her it needs plumbing in! :roll:

I think I've managed to source everything for a quick and easy plumb in from my cold water supply using John Guest fittings. My problem though is this: my cold water supply is from a large tank in the attic and is at very low pressure. Today, I bought a water pressure gauge, put it on the cold water feed, and the dial barely flickered! So maybe not even 1 bar of pressure. :cry: Also, I'm planning to feed the washing machine off the same feed, so I have a 15mm T joint with a 1/4" pipe to feed the La Spaz. I guess this arrangement of taking water from a 15mm pipe down to a 1/4" feed will still drop the pressure further? And I will also have a filter before the water hits the Vivaldi.

Here's a picture of the T-joint that I'm going to use on the water inlet which has a standard (for the uk) 3/4" tap. The blue tube will be going to a filter and then the Spaz.

My question is: Will the S1 rotary pump be ok will such a low inlet water pressure? There should not be any interruption to the flow and I don't think the pump will run dry but will the pump be labouring under these conditions? I know a solution will be fitting a pump to increase the water pressure but this will be too much for the wife! So not a solution really. Also I've seen the Flojet and bottle solution but space is tight already so no more kitchen space for that!

I really want to upgrade to the S1 (and it's at a great price) but I don't want to damage the machine but sub-optimal water pressure supply.

Thanks for any advice,

Steve

HB
Admin