La Pavoni Napolitana on the fritz

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
chuckpuckett

#1: Post by chuckpuckett »

Hello,

I am a newbie here. I've had my Napolitana for several years, and loved it. Has always made great coffee, and only had one hiccup. A year or so ago, the pump stopped pumping, and I read about the reset button in the innards, pressed it and problem solved.

Until now.

Yesterday, the machine stopped pushing the water thru with sufficient pressure. Seemed like a quantum failure; ie, no indication of impending problem during prior use. I will note that I had used a new grinder, with apparently very fine setting. But the problem occurs even with coffee ground in the Napolitana, at the old setting.

The pump still seems to be operating, though laboring and not getting the coffee thru the shower screen (well, wait 5 minutes, you might get a cup. But that worries me that I'm burning up the pump). I pressed the reset button anyway (try what you know), but no effect. Well, first time I rebrewed after that, water did come thru showerscreen (with no basket attached), but still seemed anemic pressure-wise. Made one 5 minute cup of coffee, then decided I needed further investigation.

My next thought was to clean the showerscreen, and that's why I'm posting on this forum. For the life of me, I cannot figure out how to remove the screen. There's a sort of nut holding it in place, but there's no purchase area around it. I read on another site (coffee connosiuer) that Napolitana and Lelit PL042 were the same underneath, and THAT site said to whack it counterclockwise with a flat head screwdriver until screen began to loosen, then it would unscrew. But that just sounds wrong, and even little taps didn't loosen the screen).

So I come here looking for advice. Both with the overall failure (ie, insufficient water pressure) and removing the screen to clean it. I've attached a pic of the screen.

Thanks in advance for any help.