HX espresso machine boiler pressure and extraction pressure

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Momoe

#1: Post by Momoe »

I think I know the answer but I wanted confirmation from you folks with more experience.

I just got a rocket appartamento and started dialing in. I got it from WLL and it seems they adjust them boiler pressure to 1 before they ship. From what I read, this is awesome that they do this because I would have done that myself once I got it. While I have never used a hx before (Gaggia classic user) before now, is it usual to see a long delay (10 seconds-ish) from start of pump to 1st drip? even without the portafilter on, it seems like a few seconds before water drips out of the group. I was wondering if for whatever reason, the boiler pressure controlled how fast the water was pumped out and built up pressure. I'm leaning towards no but wanted to make sure. I may have to find a portafilter handle to attach my pressure gauge to and see what my brew pressure is. I may have to adjust the OPV if it is too low. Unfortunately, my filter I built it on was for the gaggia and doesn't fit in the rocket's group head.

any thoughts are welcome.

I have eric's e61 group temp probe arriving saturday so I will have a real reference for temp for dialing in purposes

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

Momoe wrote:...is it usual to see a long delay (10 seconds-ish) from start of pump to 1st drip?
For a bottomless portafilter on an E61, beads will form in about 4-7 seconds. If you mean dripping from a portafilter spout, 10 seconds isn't far off, though based on taste and total time, you may want to grind coarser. See How to Adjust Dose and Grind Setting by Taste for details.
I was wondering if for whatever reason, the boiler pressure controlled how fast the water was pumped out and built up pressure.
Here's a diagram from Managing the Brew Temperature of HX Espresso Machines: