How I got to an ECM Synchronika

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
adcampo

#1: Post by adcampo »

I just got the ECM Synchronika. Wow, it's quite a machine.

For background, I have been using my father's 1979 La Pavoni Europiccola for the past 2 years. I spent a lot of time and frustration rebuilding that machine and learning to extract great espressos. It was a joy and quite satisfying of a project and obviously had some sentimental value. That machine will go to one of my kids one day. I have a few threads on the Lever forums sharing my journey with that machine.

Recently, I decided I wanted to take a step forward. As I assume most people do, I watched a ton of videos, read articles and reviews from this forum. I also spent a ton of time on WLL and Clive websites and YouTube channels. BTW - August Epstein at Clive has been awesome to work with. I was leaning heavily toward just getting the Synchronika, but after spending some time on the Clive Coffee site, I ended up pulling the trigger on the Lucca X58 HX machine. I've had it a couple of weeks. Overall it's a great looking machine and works really well. However, a few points bothered me more than I expected.
1. having to do a cooling flush is kind of a pain. Especially with a non-plumbed machine. Most cooling flushes would be 10-15 seconds.
2. having the gauges down low made them less useful.
3. steam worked well, but pressure would drop quickly if not given the appropriate time to build up.
4. having to fill water tank and dump the drain pan was getting old.
5. limited control of brew temp for obvious HX reason.

So with the help of August, I'm returning the X58 and I just got the Synchronika yesterday. It's some machine.