How do you fill the water tank of your espresso machine?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
photobillyli

#1: Post by photobillyli »

I had been using Bezzera Strega for a few years. A few months ago, I moved to Rocket R60V.

I love the new machine but I am a bit annoyed by the water reservoir problem.

Due to the restriction of my home, I cannot do plumb in and water reservoir is the only option for supplying water for my espresso machine.

While I was using Strega, since the water reservoir is lager (I don't have the data but it seems to be) and no back-flush requirement for a spring lever machine, a full water reservoir can supply water for more than a week of my need. (I usually make three to four espresso a day).

However, the R60V, having a smaller water reservoir and the need of backflushing, the machine runs out of water much quicker than before.

So here comes to my two questions:
1. The machine stops running when it runs out of water, it is so frustrating if it happens during a shot.... So is there any method to indicate the water level in the reservoir without opening the lid and looking into it?

2. Do you guys take out the reservoir and fill it up with water and then put it back into the machine or do you pour fresh water into the reservoir without pulling out the reservoir from the machine?

I am looking for a better way to satisfy the water need of my R60V...
Thank you so much.

Billy

chipman

#2: Post by chipman »

I don't take the reservoir out of my Duetto. I pour the water directly in. As for running out of water. I check mine every other day in the morning. Depending how much you use yours the timing may be diferent for you.

belegnole

#3: Post by belegnole »

My Bezzera BZ07 has good access to the water tank. I too check it every few days and don't remove it when filling.

I use a funnel to aid in filling. If the machine was under a cabinet I would use a funnel with a hose (beer bong).
LMWDP #641

Nunas