Help me dial in my ECM Mechanika Slim V

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
bklynjim

#1: Post by bklynjim »

Hi guys,
I'm new to HX and trying to dial in my shots. I've ready everything I've found on flushing times and temperature but I'm still confused about the temperature profile I should be shooting for.
  • Machine pressure set to 1.25 bar
  • long idle temp is 208.5.
  • RedBird espresso; 18g in 34g out in 34 seconds
  • group head temperature peaks at 214.5 during flush,
    stop the flush at 209
  • 203 - 202 during shot.
I took a video that I'd love you guys to critique.
Thanks for the help!
Jim

LObin

#2: Post by LObin »

How's the taste? Is it bitter?

You are on the upper range of extraction temperature.
Although this should be adjusted according to taste.

Range is about 90*c to 96*c (194-205F). That 214 peak is quite high. 205 starting temp is also probably high.

Based on the 20 second flush you perform in the video, it seems you need to lower your boiler pressure. I'd lower it by 0.1 increments and see how it affects your flush lengths and extraction temps.

Other than that, the extraction looks pretty good. You could loosen the grind a bit and see how a different 25ish second extraction taste.
Eventually, you can try playing around with preinfusion too.

Cheers!
LMWDP #592

bklynjim (original poster)

#3: Post by bklynjim (original poster) »

Thanks for the response. Shot was a little on the bitter side perhaps. I'll lower the boiler pressure to 1.15 and try starting the shot closer to 202 rather than 205. Thanks again

LObin

#4: Post by LObin »

Folks with E61/HX may chime in on boiler pressure / flush and brewing temp at some point but it's seems like it's been a little quieter lately on here. Understandably.