Help! La Marzocco Linea Mini brew pressure troubleshooting

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
cherns

#1: Post by cherns »

Hello! I'm new to HB and was hoping to get some help and insight on a problem with my 6 month old LMLM that I'm using on reservoir.
There was an initial issue with a low flow rate, but the local agent fixed that by clearing out the orifice. However after he re-assembled the machine, the brew head pressure gauge now indicates 0 pressure on idle.

When pulling a shot, the brew pressure gauge goes to 9 bar, but after disengaging the switch, there is a lot of overflow at the bottom, as well as a bit more water dripping down from the brew head - as though it's not quite able to close off completely. The agent hasn't had any success in figuring out what went wrong.

Anyone have a similar experience or know what might be the issue?

Jake_G
Team HB

#2: Post by Jake_G »

Hi Chernwei,

Welcome to HB!

It sounds to me as though whatever blockage was in your orifice has also gotten into your 3 way brew solenoid and is preventing it from sealing against the pressure in the integrated brew group (IBG). The solenoid is oriented horizontally, so some of the water drips out the exhaust tube, and some drips out of the group. The solution is to remove and disassemble/clean the brew solenoid and reinstall.

It is not an terrible job, but there are some tubes that need to be removed and it is tight back there. Here is a drawing from the parts manual:

You have to remove the pipes labeled 16 and 19 and then unscrew the solenoid from the IBG to clean it out, stop the leak and restore the typical idle brew pressure.

Cheers!

- Jake

cherns

#3: Post by cherns »

Thank you kindly Jake! Will get it worked on this weekend and post the results here :)

cherns

#4: Post by cherns »