Gold Pro 2 Hole Steam Wand Tip

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
framey

#1: Post by framey »

I'm a recent inductee into the world of HX coffee machines. One of the main reasons I made the leap from my single boiler Gaggia was the promise of abundant and instantaneous steam. Now that I've gotten what I wished for I've been working on producing microfoam. It looked easy enough, I read the milk frothing guide and milk texturing basics, it should be a piece of cake... :shock:

The OEM steam tip that comes with the Diadema Jnr (La Valentina) isn't bad at all, but perhaps more suited to larger volumes of milk than I commonly use. After doing a little online research I came to the conclusion that I needed the Gold Pro 2 Hole Steam Wand Tip (GP2). The tip arrived in the mail yesterday. It really does make a difference. I'm still new to HX steam power but steaming with the GP2 is like steaming in slow motion. The standard two hole tip, as previously mentioned, is a bit overwhelming with smaller volumes of milk. It has a kind of violence to its action, whereas the GP2 is smooth and you feel as though you can take your time stretching the milk and finding an optimum wand position.

The second time I used it I managed to produce my glossiest milk ever. MMM shiney :D. It looked like 'white chrome' rather than beaten egg whites, and whilst my milk pouring skills are still in their embryonic stages, I did manage one of my best rosettas to date.

I had a little trouble fitting the tip to the wand. It didn't want to screw completely on, and was leaking some steam at the juncture of the tip and the wand. I bought some plumbers tape tonight and that seems to have done the trick.