General question on espresso machines--how long do you keep them on?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
chanty 77

#1: Post by chanty 77 »

Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but it IS about espresso machines (in general). I am very new to dual boiler machines which takes 20-25 minutes to fully heat up before use. With my old Gaggia & single boiler Victoria--took about 10 minutes, sometimes less to heat up. Add the maybe 10 minutes to making espresso & steamed milk--does that cause the elements to break down quicker than a single boiler? Thanks!

Bluecold

#2: Post by Bluecold »

Elements generally last a very long time, are easy to source, and easy to replace if they ever go bad. I wouldn't worry about element life. The extra required power over the machine life is probably much more expensive, especially if you live in a hot climate and have air conditioning.
LMWDP #232
"Though I Fly Through the Valley of Death I Shall Fear No Evil For I am at 80,000 Feet and Climbing."

Advertisement
Nunas
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by Nunas »

chanty 77 wrote:Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but it IS about espresso machines (in general). I am very new to dual boiler machines which takes 20-25 minutes to fully heat up before use. With my old Gaggia & single boiler Victoria--took about 10 minutes, sometimes less to heat up. Add the maybe 10 minutes to making espresso & steamed milk--does that cause the elements to break down quicker than a single boiler? Thanks!
My answer may not be as simple as you may be hoping for. :wink: