Advice Request: Faema Eurostar Professional

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Eaglebiker

#1: Post by Eaglebiker »

Hello, I hope I am posting this message correctly. I picked up the Faema Eurostar Professional espresso machine $75 and I'm trying to figure it out. I haven't been able to find a manual or even a post discussing this machine outside of this site. Any information is sorely needed and appreciated. I'm not even sure if I'm using the buttons correctly (It's the top one and the bottom one for coffee making right?).

The boiler heats up
the pump draws water (tube 1 in the photo)
the steam/hot water wand work

When I try to use the brew head it just sends water straight out of the machine (tube 2 in the photo). Not a drop of water goes through the shower. I am a complete newbie to how these work and can barely identify some of the main parts of the machine. I'm not sure why this is happening. It might be that the hoses are not going to the right places. Tube 1 and 2 were reversed when I got the machine.

Any help appreciated, Thank you for your time.

JRising
Team HB

#2: Post by JRising »

Yes, Top Power switch and bottom Brew Switch for brewing. The brew switch powers the Pump and the Brew valve at the same time, so you should get water through the group.

If you try it with no portafilter/no coffee in place, does the water still escape over the OPV valve to that return-tube, or does it come out the group?

That return hose returns the excess water to the reservoir whenever the pressure in the brew circuit is higher than its set point (Probably 9.5 to 10 Bar). If you've ground too finely, the water can not go through the coffee-prep and will be forced over that OPV. If the brew valve is not opening, the water will be forced over that OPV.