Eric E61 Thermometer Flushing on Rocket Appartamento Temperature Questions

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
endurancematt

#1: Post by endurancematt »

I'm new to HX machines and recently bought a Rocket Appartamento and installed Eric's E61 thermometer. I have read that Rocket machines best utilize the "flush and go" tactic, but it seems when I do this the thermometer always reads around 206 degrees for the duration of each shot.

I've also tried super long initial flushes before my first shot bringing it down to 185-190 degrees which can get the temp down a bit, but I'm having trouble locking in a routine that will get my shot temperature closer to 200 degrees. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

sweaner

#2: Post by sweaner »

But...how are your shots?
Scott
LMWDP #248

endurancematt (original poster)

#3: Post by endurancematt (original poster) replying to sweaner »

Good question! :)

When I do the short flush and go they usually wind up pretty decent - maybe a tad on the bitter side though. When I experimented with the really long flushes, they weren't very good - quite sour.

allemania

#4: Post by allemania »

This may be tangential since I've got a Profitec Pro 500 with Eric's thermometer. However, given that they are both heat exchangers with similar boiler sizes (I believe) and E61 group heads, perhaps my experience will help. I very thoroughly read Eric's instruction's and explanation of the flush and go technique and the most important fact I came away with was that the temperature at the puck during extraction was approximately 3 to 5 degrees higher than what the thermometer displays during the extraction. I use a bottomless portafilter and dose 18 grams. My shot duration is in the 25 to 30 second range timed from lifting the brew lever. The group is usually idling at 204 to 205 Celsius. My process and observation is as follows: