Diagnosing low brew temperature Bezzera Mitica

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Ukdazz

#1: Post by Ukdazz »

I'm new to the HX world and the owner of a Bezzera Mitica Top for about 2 months. I'm having real trouble with off tasting shots so recently got Eric's thermometer to help me diagnose the issues.

After idle for an hr the machine grouphead temp is 200 fh.
I flush for approx 15 secs until the temp starts dropping around 207 and lock and load for flush n go the temp is steady 200.

As you can see in my video the temp stops dramatically to the 180s when I pull.
Then it takes 15 mins to recover to 197.

I've tried dosing higher, grinding finer and asked Eric too who advised good to ask here. My pstat is 1.1 I believe I'm dosing at 18g.

Is it possible I have a leak or faulty pstat? If anyone can assist I can run some tests as machine is almost new.
I've searched the forums for low temp issues and causes.

Help I am confused adjusting my pstat setting may help recovery time is that right what about brew temp?

radudanutco

#2: Post by radudanutco »

I think you are not working at the appropriate thermal regime for this machine;
it has some peculiarities: a special horizontal boiler type (less than 170 ml - ?) heat exchanger and it has as a kind of flow restrictor a 'union elbow' (p/n 5301521TR) of a smaller internal diameter (less than 4 mm) at the exit from the HX thermosyphon flow;
it has quite a 'thermal memory' and a slow recovery time;

so I worked (usind datalogging too) for 5 to 8 consecutive shots in a session, with only one initial flush, and no cooling flushes before shots; only respecting the recovery time between shots, of 90-150 secs!
the machine seems to work rather consistent if the interval between shots is around 2 min, and first shot at about 3 min after the initial flush to (somewhat) desired brew temp;