Dead spots midway through the shot, bitterness

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
GurgenPB
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by GurgenPB »

Hello

I would appreciate the community's help on this.

I'm fairly new to higher end equipment. Currently have a Slayer SG and Lagom P100. when I work my way down from a coarse grind to a finer one to get an approx. 20-25ec pre-infusion, 25-sec flow on the Slayer with what should be great light roasts, I get dead spots on the PF, and the shots tase bitter/over-extracted. It's obvious from looking at the inverted knocked out puck, that the bottom of the puck is not extracting and is channeling at the very bottom around the dark spots (attached image)

Light Roasts
18g in/36g out (VST 18gram basket)
Slayer SG (94 deg C)
Lagom P100 (700rpm, 0.6-0.7 grind setting, properly zeroed)
meticulous puck prep (RDT, WDT, tap on counter, w/ and without porcu-press, tamp with a Decent self leveling tamper)

Please help,
Thank you
- Gurgen

spressomon

#2: Post by spressomon »

Try stretching the ratio to 18/36 or even 18/45 by grinding coarser. Seldom do I find 18/26 with your perimeters using a "light" roast...desirable.

Also, how often are you backflushing the machine? How often are you backflushing with cleaner? Condition of the shower screen?
No Espresso = Depresso

GurgenPB (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by GurgenPB (original poster) »

Thank you very much for your response... that was a bad error: it's 18g in and 36g out (not 26).(sometimes 40)

Original post corrected. I backflush once a week, clean the shower screen, etc about once every 3-4 days. I think I'm as meticulous as it can be. Make about 5 shots per days.

Appreciate the help.

zefkir

#4: Post by zefkir »

You're grinding much too fine. Also PI is not really necessary with a P100, often counter productive even.