CMA 3 group espresso machine, 2 cables- 1 main power, what is the 2nd?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Summit Birm

#1: Post by Summit Birm »

Hi,

I have purchased a CMA 3 group coffee machine but a little confused as it has 2 cables coming from the machine. One of them is the main power cable (thick wire), but it also has a 2nd cable which looks like a female italian socket? Can anyone help explain what the second cable is related to?

Many thanks

baldheadracing
Team HB

#2: Post by baldheadracing »

It might be for the pump.
-"Good quality brings happiness as you use it" - Nobuho Miya, Kamasada

Summit Birm (original poster)

#3: Post by Summit Birm (original poster) »

Thank you for your response. I have never owned a machine like this so I'm a bit new to learning about the mechanical side of how coffee machines operate. I'm sorry if this is a silly question but, would the pump be located outside the machine as a separate part? I genuinely assumed that the pump and everything else except he water filter, is inside the machine

ira
Team HB

#4: Post by ira »

It is not uncommon for the pump to be external on commercial machines.

baldheadracing
Team HB

#5: Post by baldheadracing »

I'm not familiar with your particular machine so I couldn't say for certain. Astoria has some models with onboard pumps and others with outboard pumps.

Take the machine's cover off and you'll know for certain :wink:.

ETA: If there is no pump, then I would strongly suggest getting in touch with the seller and getting the pump and pump motor. They're quite expensive as new parts: https://www.cafeparts.com/Espresso-Mach ... tors-Pumps
-"Good quality brings happiness as you use it" - Nobuho Miya, Kamasada

JRising
Team HB

#6: Post by JRising »

You might want to learn a bit about espresso machines before making a purchase unless your only plan it to clean and resell it.