Cafflano Kompresso Review

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Stephanus

#1: Post by Stephanus »

Background
I am a field service engineer who likes to drink espresso. I travel quite often, I have completed 22 international trips this year and I have one more trip to complete before Christmas. Sometimes I travel to places where good (sometimes average) espresso is readily available (places like Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania, Algeria and Morocco). But I also travel to places where the only option is to make your own coffee. Until now I just made french press in the hotel room.

I use an Arrarex Caravel and Faema Baby Faemina at home and use Eureka Mignon and MadebyKnock Feldwood grinders. I have taken the Baby Faemina and Feldwood with me on a few trips but because I take so many tools and instruments with me it is not always possible to take the rather bulky machine with. So in short, I like espresso and I can tell the difference between good and average espresso, but I am not a connoisseur or cup taster.

I order bicycle parts from Bike24 in Germany from time to time, and when I saw that they have the Cafflano Kompresso in stock it went straight to my basket.

Device capability
I initially had my doubts about this device, regarding the force required to achieve the correct pressure for espresso extraction. I did a few calculations and a non-scientific test and I quickly realised this device can theoretically make real espresso. There was a thread about this device which is now locked where some people claimed that is is impossible to achieve 9 bar pressure, but from my calculations it's possible.

The diameter of the cylinder is 28mm. From this it is easy to calculate that you will need a force of 554,18N exerted on the piston to reach a pressure of 9bar. Now this is where some people will say things like a small Chinese woman needs to sit on the device with all her bodyweight to achieve the correct pressure :lol: