Building an Espresso Machine

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
fancycoconut

#1: Post by fancycoconut »

Howdy!
I have been wanting to build my own espresso machine for quite some time now, but only recently has the plan jumped forward. The basic idea is a system controlled by an arduino chip, to pull the perfect shot (if you are interested in more of the technical and design info let me know!). I am going to be building my own grouphead. I contacted a local university and asked if I could use their CNC machine. They jumped on the idea when I told them I was a high school student! I will be designing the grouphead on CAD software at home, but I am a bit stuck at the moment. I need to determine a couple of things before I can begin to draft the design:
+what size screen should I use?
+what size portafilter should I use?
+what is the outer diameter of the portafilter basket?
+are the bayonet rings a standard size?
If anyone could help me determine/answer any of those questions, it would be much appreciated!
Ethan

kajer

#2: Post by kajer »

I'd love to ask you a ton of questions but fear this thread will become 100+ pages long; Let's do it anyway!

Why build your own group head? If you do, will you build your own PF handles and baskets? Why not modify an existing group head model? Like an E61 and add a larger or adjustable air-gap to allow for greater pre-infusion times?

Those first questions out of the way...

58MM is the standard most manufactures seem to have chosen...

Advertisement
Marcelnl

#3: Post by Marcelnl »

If you start from scratch you"ll probably have to do some ( well, probably a lot of) work to find fundamental research or you may need to do some of your own...

I imagine that a pressure profile and extraction rate are a.o. Depending on the puck size/diameter which imo is largely dictated by the shot size extraction factor you're after.