Breville Dual Boiler woes

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Undercaffeinated

Postby Undercaffeinated » May 03, 2019, 11:14 pm

I've been using a Dual Boiler that I purchased off amazon for about a month and a half now. Up until 2 weeks ago, I was able to pull consistent shots using the double shot(double walled) basket at or above 7 bars. It didn't matter much what beans I was using. Suddenly though, they're bouncing between 3-5 bars using the same basket and nothing I can find has changed. Using the cleaning disc it runs up to 9 bars, if I run it several times in a row it will start getting to 10 bars. I'm new to espresso but it was very consistent before. I ran out and bought freshly roasted beans and had them ground for espresso but it hasn't made a difference. I managed to choke the machine but still didn't get above 5 bars during that run. Any insight is appreciated.

johnny4lsu

Postby johnny4lsu » May 03, 2019, 11:50 pm

had them grind them for espresso

You really need your own grinder. You can't have someone "grind for espresso"...It just doesn't work like that. If you were getting anything decent with someone grinding for you, it was pure luck of the draw.

You can get a Baratza Sette for fairly cheap or a Niche Zero for a little more.

Undercaffeinated

Postby Undercaffeinated » May 04, 2019, 12:16 pm

Thanks Johnny, I do need a better grinder than what I currently own. It's confusing to me how with just the basket in it will get 5 bars but with espresso it will only reach 3. I do feel the extraction is coming out earlier so I'll pick up a grinder and maybe a better tamp and experiment from there.

lancealot

Postby lancealot » May 04, 2019, 1:16 pm

4 baskets came with your BDB.
- single shot, single wall
- single shot, double wall
- double shot, single wall
- double shot double wall

I would estimate that almost none of us has experience with the double wall baskets. I used mine 1x. Mine are packed away now.