Breville Dual Boiler "Slayer shots"? - Page 72

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
athoangphan

#711: Post by athoangphan »

I took a Clippard needle valve apart today and just wanted to share what the needle looks like.

doublebase

#712: Post by doublebase »

I just read from the beginning to Page 40, may I ask is there a way to splice a switch to the pump without drilling a hole on the machine. And the benefit of this is to mimic the Scott Rao stop and bloom method? I just placed my BDB order and would like to do the Slayer Mod first. Being a complete newbie to espresso machine and this community, I will keep reading these Modding threads and see if there is any mods I could make to the machine.

By the way, some people mentioned Acacia mod, may I ask what is it?

Cerini Coffee & Gifts: official US importer for Olympia Express
Sponsored by Cerini Coffee & Gifts
pcrussell50 (original poster)

#713: Post by pcrussell50 (original poster) » replying to doublebase »

You can run a cord with a switch to operate the pump, out the back of the machine and around to the front where you don't have to cut anything. That's what I did before I converted to a rotary pump.

-Peter
LMWDP #553

mrjag

#714: Post by mrjag »

Another option is to repurpose the magnetic tamper storage slot. The magnet-strip at the top of the slot is held in place with some hot glue. Open up the top of the case, carefully pull the magnetic strip off, and now you have a decently sized hole to rig a new button/switch through. Bonus points if you can 3d-print something to mount it nice and flush with the rest of the case.

Need to reverse back to stock? Slap the magnetic strip back in place and secure with another dab of hot glue.

enshongmiranda

#715: Post by enshongmiranda »