Breville Dual Boiler, five+ years on - Page 22

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
LatteAddict

#211: Post by LatteAddict »

Hi folks,

Long time lurker with a question. Has anybody attempted to mod a BDB for weight based dosing?

My thought would be using a raspberry pi connected to an Acaia Lunar via Bluetooth to stop the machine after x grams. So either using the pi to interrupt one of the buttons, or (far fetched) using the pi to replace the stock control unit. The second would open up a lot of avenues for programmatic control and shot logging.

I have plenty of software experience but no hardware/embedded systems experience. Anyone have any opinions??

Winnipeg85

#212: Post by Winnipeg85 »

Hi,

I've my BDB for almost 5 years and haven't done anything to it. I'm thinking of being proactive and ordering some parts but I'm having trouble finding part numbers or specifics in this post.

1 - Solenoid from ereplacementparts is in stock no problem
2 - Brass pump - where are ppl buying there's? Part no?
3 - Brass opv - same questions
4 - group head gasket - not at ereplacement
5 - references to o-rings and amazon but does anyone have any specifics?

If there's anything else recommended for maintenance I'd greatly appreciate the advice.

Thanks

Matthew

pcrussell50 (original poster)

#213: Post by pcrussell50 (original poster) replying to Winnipeg85 »

2) Ulka EX5. I got mine on Amazon for $26. The stock one is Ulka EP5. There are other Ulka pumps with longer duty cycles and more power. I have not tried them.

3) Any prosumer Brass OPV. I used one from a Vibiemme DD that I got from Stefanos. You will need to get the fittings for 4mm tubing, to attach the 4mm Breville tubing to the OPV. In the case of the Vibiemme OPV, it was a single 1/8" BSP-to-4mm tubing adapter. I used "quick connect" but you can use compression too. Ebay or Amazon for the fittings.