Breville Dual Boiler, five+ years on - Page 151

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
mangoie

#1501: Post by mangoie »

Hi everyone,
I bought a 920 as a repair project (not complete suicide, I have a lot of experience (too much?) repairing my old 900 :oops: ). The previous owner said it tripped his circuit breaker in the middle of the night and had a warm top cover in the morning. I assumed it could be a damaged triac board making the steam boiler go loco, which was caused by leaking o-rings of the steam boiler. I've seen some threads here describing these same symptoms.

When I opened it for the first time it didn't look too bad. Turned the machine on the boilers heated up, so no problem with fuses. I could already see four leaking connections straight away, so might've been the cause of the nightly party of the machine. Draining the steam boiler didn't work at first, spraying some water in there it seemed it was clogged up with a lot of scale and some weird brown stuff... Could the brown stuff be from the heating elements overheating?

Investigating some more I also noticed some scale on the side of the boiler, I think it's the connection where the heating element goes into the boiler. Or maybe condensed water from the steam leaks just dripped down? Has anybody seen this before? Is it even fixable? (sorry no photo, hard to make a picture and I brushed most of it away....)

And the brown stuff from the steam boiler, should I be worried the heating element is damaged? I turned the machines on and off a couple of times and used some steam and I've never heard the pump for filling the steam boiler. Maybe that's broken too and cause some of the problems later on?

level3ninja

#1502: Post by level3ninja »