Brand new Izzo Alex Duetto IV very wet steam

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
LittleCoffee

#1: Post by LittleCoffee »

My brand new Duetto IV is producing what to me at least looks like very wet steam. The Duetto is 3 days old, and I'm using soft mineral water with the reservoir (i.e. not plumbed in).

On the factory default settings of 123C steam temp it gets to about 1.1bar of pressure at steady state. I purge the steam wand for 1-2s into the drip tray (some water comes out). I then steam some water in a cup for 20s. The water gains about 18g of weight in the process. This seems too much to me, but I am a complete beginner. Can someone tell me if if this is too much please?

If I switch the machine off, purge 50g of water from the hot water tap and then repeat the experiment, I get the same result so I doubt it's because the water sensor is too high? But maybe it's so high that purging 50g isn't enough? I cant' really purge any more water and retain enough steam pressure to steam for 20s to repeat the experiment if the machine is off.

I've read some older Duetto models have an anti-vac which purges into the water reservoir. I don't think I have that - there is only one hose in my reservoir and as the steam reservoir gets close to 100C during heat-up I hear the anti-vac valve hissing for about 5s with a small puff of steam coming out of the top of the machine before it shuts off - which to me sounds like the anti-vac is operating properly (and venting to the outside rather than into a hose) and can't be causing the wet steam.

Everything else seems to work fine - the machine dribbles quite a few drops of water into the drip tray on heat-up which then stops once warmed up.

Any ideas gratefully received with thanks in advance!

BaristaBoy E61

#2: Post by BaristaBoy E61 »

Welcome to HB Stephan