Bezzera BZ10 - Tips/Advice?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
jferreir

#1: Post by jferreir »

I recently bought a Bezzera BZ10 for home use, but I'm struggling to pull a decent shot. It's been years since I used a proper espresso machine (~10), and I definitely need some help. I have no experience with HX machines, and I'm looking for simple, practical advice from other Bezzera owners. I fully acknowledge the problem lies with me, not the machine.

The biggest problem thus far is sour shots. I know this means the coffee is under-extracted, but I'm not sure how to correct it. I'm confident the grind is correct because I get great consistency with lots of crema. If I adjust the grind any finer, then the shot doesn't pour and I only get a few drops of coffee (GH pressure drops to 6/7 bars, too). BUT, it still takes anywhere between 20-30 seconds to pour.

TBH, I think the problem is two-fold: cooling flushes and improper dosing. This is my first HX machine, so I assumed cooling flushes prior to brewing were mandatory. I've found the opposite to be true - cooling flushes makes the shot more sour (even after a long warm-up time). How long should I do the cooling flush, if at all? How long should I wait before pulling another shot? Any other specific suggestions for this machine?