Astoria Argenta basic questions - serial number

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Lifebeat

#1: Post by Lifebeat »

Hello everyone!

I've been lurking here for quite a while now, and first off I have to say you are a very nice bunch of knowledgeable and friendly people.

I haven't posted before because, well, I didn't have a "real" machine to post about. I've been using a Saeco Odea for a few years now and I was really ready for an upgrade.

This weekend a found a nice Astoria Argenta AEP 2 group (at least thats what I beleive it is). Think I got a good deal on it (600 CAN$, for the machine, the water softener and a Bregant NR1400 grinder. The pump and motor seem dead, but I'll see when I get to that).

I've seen a few very interesting posts on refurbishing these, and will refer to them often I think...

I do have 2 very basic questions at the moment for which I can't seem to find an answer. Where can I find the nameplate for this machine? (serial, voltage, etc.) I can't find it for the life of me! Second question : what is this red light the arrow points at? I feel it's been added as a modification and haven't done the wiring investigation yet. Do others have such a light?

Thanks for any help!

Chad C.

#2: Post by Chad C. »

Congratulations, you now have a very real espresso machine. These Astoria/CMA/Rio machines are of a decent design, and are well manufactured. While not particularly innovative, they can still produce excellent results when used with skilled hands. Make sure you learn how to tune the pump and boiler pressures to get good results. I've bought & sold several of these, and I like them because they are very low maintenance machines.
In automotive terms, you've bought a Volvo 240 Sedan.