Am I broken or is the espresso machine?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
goodmonringcoffee

#1: Post by goodmonringcoffee »

Hello,

Newbie here. I am hoping to get some insight into a problem I seem to be having with my Espresso Machine: La Pavoni Grand Cafe, now I am very quickly understanding that this wasn't the best buy but I got it as a gift and I am hoping to make it work. I would like to note that I have a Eureka Specialita and I am using fresh whole beans coffee is no older than 5 days with a non-pressurized Portafilter.

Problem: So far I have not been able to reach the appropriate 9-10 bar on the gauge extraction with a brew ratio of 1:2 in 25-30 Seconds. It is more like 10 seconds.
This wouldn't be much of a problem if I was able to get a proper brew ratio without serious channeling as the Pressure gauge goes to 15+ PSI to get the brew ratio of 1:2 in the 25-30 seconds.

A little extra info: when I turn on the water with nothing connected the gauge says 5 bars of pressure. I feel like that is a lot of pressure.

La Pavoni Tech told me to shorten the OPV spring in the group head, which I did but this hasn't changed anything.

Thoughts? IS the pressure gauge accurate when it reads 15 bars or is it really just 10-11?

Thank you for your input!

JRising

#2: Post by JRising »

Where is the gauge reading thepressure?
If it shows 5 bar when you KNOW that the brewhead is open to atmosphere, then it's reading from before some serious restrictions, giving you no info about the pressure drop across your coffee. If it reads 15 when the machine is producing excellent coffee, assume that 15 bar at wherever the pump reads is a good reading. It's certainly not hurting anything. The gauge may just be ornamental on something like a La Pavoni Grand Cafe.

Versalab: maker and supplier of finest espresso equipment
Sponsored by Versalab
Nunas
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by Nunas »