Air-freighting espresso machine

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
stump007

#1: Post by stump007 »

Hi there,

I'm moving in a few days, and will bring my Oscar 2 with me (I tried selling it but didn't work out)

As I move internationally, my stuff will be send in both Air-freight and Sea-freight (2 separate shipments)

Does the machine really have to be drained?
My guess is yes for air-freight as liquids are prohibited + things are likely to freeze in air-cargo.
But what if I put it in the sea container? (it's quite hot right now both in departure/destination countries and in between :D )

Just prefer to avoiding opening the machine as much as possible as I am not a tinkerer

jgood

#2: Post by jgood »

Do you have the original packing? My Quickmill came in a pretty nice set of boxes. I am no expert but I would empty the tank and seriously consider emptying the boilers - you don't want water in the electrics. Perhaps a local dealer/repairman can advise or do the prep. What would make me nervous is the uncanny ability of shippers to ignore "this side up" stickers.

stump007 (original poster)

#3: Post by stump007 (original poster) »

Yes, still have the original package.

On the drain, was thinking to try putting it on all it sides to see if that makes some water come out, if so, drain a bit, if not then should be fine for shipping. Shipping company is quite pro, they won't be playing football with the crates :D

Seems if I really want to drain the boiler, I'd need to disassemble panels, and then unscrew a piece of plumbing on the boiler to let the water out.. Really don't trust myself in doing this, but if I absolutely have to do it I'll do it. I doubt I can find someone to do this service for me and moving in a couple days :S

yakster
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by yakster »

Draining HX boiler without hot water tap