Advice - just can't get espresso right

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
stevezau

#1: Post by stevezau »

Hi All,

Firstly, I am a novice, please go easy.

I have a Rocket Giotto Type V Machine and Mazzer Luigi Grinder.

Prior to buying, I took a 3 hours course on making espresso but I just can't seem to get it right. I am just not clear or getting confused watching videos on how-to when trying to dial in my shots.

I am adjusting the grind, weighing the coffee to 18gm. Trying to tamp at the same pressure. Then pulling the shot timing 25 seconds and 60mls.

I can get the shot pouring slowly and consistently for 25 seconds @ 50-60ml. However, what I am confused on is if I measure the coffee it is 17grams but does not fill the portafilter.

Every video I've watches teaches you to fill, tap twice, level off and tamp. If I do this then I cannot get the shot flowing correctly and maintain the right coffee weight before i pull the shot.

Any advice, please. I am going insane burning through heaps of beans.

thirdcrackfourthwave

#2: Post by thirdcrackfourthwave replying to stevezau »

1. How is the taste? Taste is your primary guide.
2. Output in Mls? Weight is better than volume so think grams not mls.
3. Personally, and this is subjective, I don't like my shots that 'lungo.' Are you shooting for a lungo? Familiarize yourself with brew ratios. 1:3.3 is what you are at right now. This tends to produce a bitter watery shot.
4. There is a lot of discussion on shot weight and length of pull. I don't want to go down that route--there is plenty out there already. For me your shot seems to be pulling fast. I would reduce the grind size. See # 1
5. From what I could see here I would continue weighing the coffee in. Go with what is working, see #1 taste.
6. You may burn through some beans but work at one variable at a time. You seem to have found a good weight for coffee in the basket. Go from there.

HB
Admin

#3: Post by HB »