Voilà - Specialty Instant Coffee (Kickstarter)

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
Simon345

#1: Post by Simon345 »

Anyone know much about this brand? Sounds like they are brewing the coffee, and then turning it into a powder - quoting 25 year shelf life?

http://sprudge.com/voila-the-rise-of-sp ... 05575.html

Fausto

#2: Post by Fausto »

It's no different then other instant coffee except that it's made with good coffee!

Most instant coffee is made with lots of robusta and is super over extracted when brewed. Then they freeze dry it, getting rid of all the water, and leaving you with a crystal/powder that can be added to hot water and turned back into coffee.

Several years ago Starbucks started making instant which is leagues better than Folgers, Maxwell House, etc., but still far from good.

Sudden Coffee and now Viola are using an old process with better ingredients and a focus on flavor. I have a sudden coffee subscription and I think it's great. Take it on an airplane, camping, work, etc. good coffee very easily.

If you're interested try out Sudden since it's available now (also pm me if you're willing to use my referral code!).

I'm a Viola backer though because I like that he's showcasing the origin and the roaster. I'm not actually sure where the coffee comes from and is roasted by that Sudden uses. I think I read an Ethiopian blend that Kalle roasts himself, but could be wrong.

Another cool thing is that Sudden is made using shots of espresso from a Linea, not some big batch brewer. A lot of work!

[creative nickname]

#3: Post by [creative nickname] »

So you have tried the Sudden coffee? If so, care to share any impressions? I'm quite curious to know how well specialty coffee flavors hold up through the freeze drying process.
LMWDP #435

fishll

#4: Post by fishll »