Trader Joe's Barista Espresso

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
roastaroma

#1: Post by roastaroma »

Though normally I don't use Trader Joe's coffees for espresso, these are not normal times -- and I was pleasantly surprised to find that one of their blends produces (for me) more than acceptable results. That is, if one ever has a hankering for a reverse-engineered Lavazza at a good price. TJ's Barista Espresso is a blend of whole Arabica beans from Central & South America & Cherry-A Robusta beans from India, which comes in a 13-oz. nitrogen flushed bag for $5.99.

While I'm no expert at tasting notes, one can expect hints of chocolate, nuts, caramel, and citrus, and yes, the beguiling burnt rubber that transports you back to Piazza San Marco or wherever you last had Italian espresso in situ. One detail on the bag might be misleading: I would not call it "light to medium roast" as it's closer to Full City, with traces of oil on the beans. Darker than Stumptown Hairbender, which I consider true medium. For $6 it's a deal. This blend is now in my regular rotation, esp. for cappuccinos -- a good change of pace from my usual 100% Arabica.
"Non è la macchina, è la mano."
LMWDP #223

espresso_newb

#2: Post by espresso_newb »

More details please!
  • Dose
  • Brew Temp
  • Grind relative to Lavazza

La Marzocco · Home: customized for espresso aficionados
Sponsored by La Marzocco · Home
Pressino

#3: Post by Pressino »