Single origin espressos to start out with

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
gr2020

#1: Post by gr2020 »

I'm a relative newbie compared to most of you. I usually drink "comfort" blends, and I think my favorite so far has been Boxcar Stella. I just ordered a bag of the Caffe Lusso espresso blend from the "favorite espresso blends" post.

I'd like to try some single origins, but I'm not sure exactly where to start. The closest I've probably come is the Black Cat Classic blend a couple of months ago, which was _much_ sweeter than I'm used to, but I was intrigued. In terms of flavors, I think I'd prefer more berries, as opposed to lemon sorts of flavors, but I'm game to try anything once!

Are there any currently-available SO's you'd recommend I could try that are relatively easy to pull (idiot proof would be perfect - ha)? Or barring that, maybe any specific regions to start with?

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

For a single origin, Ethiopia is a spectacular place to start, and if you're seeking berries, consider a natural processed coffee from there.

Many well prepared Brazil's are going to be easy, sweet and forgiving with varying amounts of fruitiness and "comfort food" levels of (lower) acidity.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

spressomon

#3: Post by spressomon »

^ this! Many to recommend...but Redbird's Ethiopia Wote Konga (natural) a is a bargain IMHO and wonderful as espresso.
No Espresso = Depresso

LukeFlynn

#4: Post by LukeFlynn replying to spressomon »

I've been thinking about picking up some of Jeff's single origins.. are they roasted as dark as the Red Bird espresso is?

TomC
Team HB

#5: Post by TomC replying to LukeFlynn »

It won't be Jeff's, he sold Redbird to a new owner.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

LukeFlynn

#6: Post by LukeFlynn »

TomC wrote:It won't be Jeff's, he sold Redbird to a new owner.