Recommendation for light roast.

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
jinrowang

#1: Post by jinrowang »

I'm extremely new to espresso world and only got to try few coffee beans at the moment. My first choice was to try Starbucks coffee varieties, Light-Veranda, Medium-Pike Place, and Dark-Espresso. I found Dark Espresso to be too bitter for me and ended up drinking in latte only. Pike place is still bitter so use it for Americano. I find Veranda to be my favorite as I can have it as espresso, sometimes lightly mixing with water.

I wanted to try something else and tried lavazza Super Crema (medium roast). I really like it since it's strong yet not bitter as SB Pike place. Also Iove it's flavor. But it's still bit strong for me. I ended up having it as ice Americano and latte.

Is there any mild coffee as SB Veranda yet have good flavor as Lavazza super crema? I'm eager to try all different types of beans but can't go buy them all :p. Any advice where I should start with good flavored light roast coffee will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

What flavors do you enjoy in your coffee?

Though I haven't seen it, the flavor descriptors on Starbucks' "light" roasts sound more like medium-dark to me. Light compared to other Starbucks coffees, but not "light" on the grand scale of coffees.

Many flavors in coffee come from the roast, especially things like chocolate and nuts. Robusta coffee gives texture and flavor to blend that most SOs don't have. It may be that you'd more enjoy what many call "medium" or "medium-dark", even if the marketing material uses different terms. Light roasts tend to be more "bright and fruity" than "chocolate and nuts" (with a couple exceptions, such as some Central and South American varieties).

jinrowang (original poster)

#3: Post by jinrowang (original poster) »

Arg... then I guess I really didn't have light coffee yet... Thanks for your explanation! :)