Mail Order vs. Local Roasters?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
Kafana Nick

#1: Post by Kafana Nick »

Hello All,

I am new to the espresso culture and am slowing feeling my way and learning. I have a question regarding acquiring good quality coffee. From what I have read, freshness is truly key. And most regional roasters/sellers are very good at shipping out their freshly roasted coffees promptly. But what about using local roasters that are within easy commuting/errand distance?

Even here in podunk New Hampshire, there is a coffee roaster in Concord, where I work. I can stop by any day and pick up a small amount of freshly roasted coffee. No freezing. No vacuum sealing. No watching the calendar. This would seem to accomplish a great deal of the goal of good coffee with ease.

I imagine that many of you live in much more populated areas that I, with what I am surmising to be a much greater variety of local roaster options. Yet it appears that most of you have preferred regional suppliers and avail yourselves of mail order.

Why?

My only guess is that you find the bean selection/roasting techniques of the regional roasters to be sufficiently superior to your local people that it justifies the added expense and inconvenience.

I will most likely pursue both avenues, as least for comparison's sake. (The learning and experimentation in all of this is fascinating to me!) But your thoughts on this matter would be instructive. Thank you.

Nick

Almico

#2: Post by Almico »

I always prefer local, but not at the expense of freshness or variety.

If you can get the variety of coffee to suit your coffee style and you can get it within a week of the roast date, then buy local. But that is a big "if".