Light roast coffee for pour-over, how long do you wait.

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Acavia

#1: Post by Acavia »

I used to start brewing coffee around 4 to 7 days post roast, o matter the roast level - although I mostly used light roasts. Also, after 8 to 10 days, I would vacuum-seal freeze 3 to 5 day rations.

For the last few months, I have been waiting 14+ days, and some 18+. Coffee seems better: smoother, richer, sweeter.

Recently I had some Yemen coffee I did not enjoy much. I started it around 16 days, but only brewed half of it, forgetting about the rest until a few days ago when I noticed the bag. I started brewing the rest of it, 42 days post roast. With these 42+ post roast brews, I enjoyed the coffee. It is rich, sweet, complex and it lost some of the natural/dry process taste it had which is what I did not like in the previous brews.

mkane
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by mkane »

PO here 99.9% of the time and we start as soon as 1hr after it leaves the roaster. I'll roast at least 5 - 340g roasts. Most if not all are a medium roast, approximately 420°. Seems as though 3-5 days post roast is optimal. I'll vacuum seal what's hasn't been drank and freeze.

Granted these are not light roasts. I can't imagine waiting 40 days without feeling guilty.

Brewzologist
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by Brewzologist »

Some coffees benefit from more rest than others. Yemeni and Ethiopian coffees are examples of this. I like to rest my coffees at least 3-5 days after roasting, with Africans and Yemenis more like 10-14 days. IMO, coffees do get smoother the longer you wait, but you risk losing floral and fruity aromas and tastes too. I also think acidity suffers if you wait too long. The best thing to do is conduct some taste tests over time and do what works for your taste buds! :wink:
★ Helpful

yakster
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by yakster »