Is cupping a good way to figure out target espresso taste profile?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
nosiesta

#1: Post by nosiesta »

Hi there

What is the 'best' way to figure out the flavours that you are trying to get from a shot of espresso? I'm new to the game and haven't developed my pallet even slightly enough yet to really figure out if I'm anywhere near what the roaster had in mind. Is 'cupping' the coffee a good idea first? Would that let me know what it's supposed to taste like and then I can aim for that same profile in my espresso? Or am I way off the mark here?

Thanks!

zefkir

#2: Post by zefkir »

It's not a bad option.

Personally, since I use the same coffee for filter and for espresso, I always start my bags as pourovers, with a handful of brews I already have a decent idea of how the bean should taste and should behave when ground for espresso before I even pull the first shot. I let that be a guidance.

nosiesta (original poster)

#3: Post by nosiesta (original poster) »

Thanks for the reply. I'll try it and see how I get on!

Milligan
Supporter ❤

#4: Post by Milligan »

I do the same thing as zefkir. I start with pour over for a few days with a new coffee. Then after a week or so I'll switch to espresso for it since coffee needs to rest at least a week before espresso anyway. PO gives me great separation of flavors to know what to expect out of the espresso. I wouldn't specifically recommend cupping, it is fine to do though. I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to do a cupping though as one doesn't typically enjoy a morning cup of coffee with grounds in the bottom of the cup.

ojt

#5: Post by ojt »

If I need to "assess" a coffee, maybe because I'm having trouble extracting it well, I do a french press brew of it. Very similar to the cupping brew and much easier to make consistently than pour over.
Osku

baldheadracing
Team HB

#6: Post by baldheadracing »