Freezing coffee beans

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Neto

#1: Post by Neto »

How bad will it affect the taste? I'm new to subscriptions and am looking to get the redbird espresso 5lbs bag. So if you make the calculation, 5lbs ships free and it's about $55 and a single pound is about $20 shipped so if I go through 1lbs a week that ends up being $100 for 5lbs. If freezing coffee beans don't affect taste that much I think it's worth it at least for me. I only drink milk based drinks so any suggestions are appreciated.

RyanJE

#2: Post by RyanJE »

My suggestion would be to stop drinking milk drinks only, your missing out! :D

But seriously there is a ton of info around here on freezing....
I drink two shots before I drink two shots, then I drink two more....

Neto (original poster)

#3: Post by Neto (original poster) »

Yes, I want to drink espresso by itself but I don't think I'm at that level yet...

Thanks, will search

BillBurrGrinder

#4: Post by BillBurrGrinder replying to Neto »

I would suggest freezing it to the best of your ability, vacuum bag or zip lock or whatever, and taste it. Just test it out for yourself because there will be all sorts of conflicting info. Having it frozen for a long period might not be good but I haven't tested much yet myself. I have beans frozen I'm going to check with a pulled shot tomorrow.

For milk drinks you might not the difference even if there is one. I'd say go for it.

ALfromtheLAND

#5: Post by ALfromtheLAND »

I just bought a 5lb bag of Kaldi's espresso 700 and i plan on vacuum packing in 8 oz packages at about 4-5 days after roasting. Then going into chest freezer.

jesse

#6: Post by jesse »

With regard to filter coffee: