Espresso brew temperatures on medium roast coffees

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
chanty 77

#1: Post by chanty 77 »

I'm very new at using various brew temps for espresso roasts--medium roasts, a few medium-dark (never all dark, too burnt/smoky for my liking). Anyway, some of the mediums I have tried tend to be a little more of a lighter medium than I'm used to--so have put up to 203° on the PID. Today, I realized the new blend I was trying must've been a more true Medium--as 203° gave it more of a smoky flavor didn't care for. Tomorrow will try it at 200°. This particular roast was Nossa Full Cycle. Anyone? Thanks.

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

Higher temperatures can extract more from the coffee. Medium and darker roasts often have unpleasant roast bitterness. Higher temperatures, finer grind, and longer ratios can accentuate these flavors.

chanty 77 (original poster)

#3: Post by chanty 77 (original poster) »

Thanks.

DamianWarS

#4: Post by DamianWarS »

chanty 77 wrote:I'm very new at using various brew temps for espresso roasts--medium roasts, a few medium-dark (never all dark, too burnt/smoky for my liking). Anyway, some of the mediums I have tried tend to be a little more of a lighter medium than I'm used to--so have put up to 203° on the PID. Today, I realized the new blend I was trying must've been a more true Medium--as 203° gave it more of a smoky flavor didn't care for. Tomorrow will try it at 200°. This particular roast was Nossa Full Cycle. Anyone? Thanks.