Costco Canada Whole Bean Coffees - any of these any good?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
rolex

#1: Post by rolex »

Hi guys! New to the forums, and greetings from St. Jacobs, Canada!

I have a Lelit Mara and Niche Zero

I'm headed to Costco this afternoon and am wondering if anyone has any experience with any of these beans (there's a big selection!)

I'm looking for something more affordable for some daily drivers as the beans priced here are quite literally 75% less than I've been paying at my local roaster. The value is just not there considering I'm a novice user who is wasting lots of pucks and shots while trying to improve basic things like shot consistency and pouring milk

https://www.costco.ca/whole-bean-coffee.html is the link, if anyone would have a minute to look it over I'd really appreciate some suggestions!

Thanks very much and cheers !!

baldheadracing
Team HB

#2: Post by baldheadracing »

Welcome!

Lavazza Super Crema would be my choice.
-"Good quality brings happiness as you use it" - Nobuho Miya, Kamasada

Advertisement
palica

#3: Post by palica »

baldheadracing wrote: Lavazza Super Crema would be my choice.
I have heard good things about the Lavazza Oro too. I will try it next time.

baldheadracing
Team HB

#4: Post by baldheadracing replying to palica »

The Super Crema is on sale at Costco, that's all. Spend a weekend pulling a kg of coffee that is thrown out, and one should be ready to move on to fresh-roasted. Twice the price, and twice the taste quality (to me, taste is subjective).

I'd say to take a course first, but that would probably involve a drive from St. Jacobs to the GTA.

Actually, I'd say to get some kind of water treatment system first. The rock-hard water around Waterloo destroys espresso machines.

BaristaBoy E61

#5: Post by BaristaBoy E61 »

baldheadracing wrote:Actually, I'd say to get water treatment system first.

+1 to that!

Welcome to HB Ray