Coffees that don't freeze well

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
yakster
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by yakster »

I thought I'd start a thread for people who regularly freeze roasted coffee but find that some of their coffees don't freeze well and suffer a significant loss of flavor when frozen.

I noticed this recently with the Uganda Kaproron Sipi Falls Raised Bed Natural Organic Crown Jewel and I've stopped storing this coffee in the freezer. The other jar from the same roast that I had stored in my coffee cupboard was fine. I hadn't noticed this before with washed or other natural processed coffees.
-Chris

LMWDP # 272
★ Helpful

spressomon

#2: Post by spressomon »

Good idea yakster!

I have been freezing coffee beans for quite a few years now and although not 100%, many of the naturally processed beans just don't survive completely intact after freezing; even after only being in the deep freeze for a couple weeks. Having said that, lately I have shifted to not vac sealing my glass canning jars with the natural processed beans and they seem to hold up better compared to vac sealing. All anecdotal as I have not done blind taste tests.

Freezer: Minus 15-17ºF (actual), manual defrost chest style freezer.
No Espresso = Depresso

baldheadracing
Team HB

#3: Post by baldheadracing »

This is kind of hard to pin down as I suspect that both the green coffee and the roast contribute. So, some food for thought:

First, I think that a coffee that deteriorates taste-wise relatively quickly when stored in room temperature conditions will do the same in colder conditions. Also, I suspect moisture and water activity play a role, but I've never measured these.

With my own roasts:
- I have never noticed this with roasts taken beyond the end of first crack; only in roasts where I drop during first crack;