Canadian Roasters: Canucks...What are you drinking? - Page 29

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
Dan2019

#281: Post by Dan2019 »

mfogliet wrote:Social "Farmer's Organic" sounds like your thing.
Thanks, I'll add that to the list!

I'm currently finishing Detour's San Sebastien Columbia. Too juicy and fruity for me, but it does also have this earthy quality that I like. I don't recall tasting that combination before.

blam

#282: Post by blam »

i've tried a lot of canadian coffees over the past few years.

though i am new to espresso, my go-to's for coffee were always pilot in the colder months and phil & Sebastian in the warmer months.

recently tried Rogue Wave here in Edmonton was very pleased. will be going back for sure.

anchored, bows and arrows, cherry hill, transcend, parallel 49, matchsticks,

Calgary
rosso,
analog,
Five21 are all decent.
Phil and seb takes the win for Calgary though.

Edmonton
not a fan of transcend, I don't find their beans are anything special considering the price point.
Rogue wave ive been very impressed, but they are a little on the pricier side.
the Colombian - havent had a chance to try them yet. recently heard they stopped date stamping their coffee so I'm not too excited to buy some to find out they are stale.
Iconoclast - their cold brew is on point, but not a huge fan of the espresso. its too bold for me. i prefer brighter roasts.

out east i've tried
pilot,
monogram,
Anchored (halifax).

Pilot has some great stuff. monogram is decent and anchored is approachable, but nothing special, admittedly its been a while since i've used them.

in the BC area
matchsticks - nice, balanced
parallel 49 - i'd say comparable to matchsticks
bows and arrows - depending on the roast, i've had some i've loved and some that were okay.
drumroasters coffee - not bad, but i havent tried enough of it to give it a fair review.